Commission announces winners of 2016 EU Prize for Women Innovators

The winners, from Portugal, Finland and Ireland, have all received EU research and innovation funding at some point in their careers, and recently founded or co-founded a successful company based on their innovative ideas.

The three winners of the 2016 EU Prize for Women Innovators have been announced.

The winners are:

  1. Dr. Susana Sargento, co-founder of Veniam in Portugal, turns vehicles into Wi-Fi hotspots and builds city-scale vehicular networks that collect terabytes of urban data.
  2. Prof. Sirpa Jalkanen, co-founder of BioTie Therapies in Finland, discovered unique targets for drug development for harmful inflammations and cancer treatment.
  3. Dr. Sarah Bourke, co-founder of Skytek in Ireland, develops software for the International Space Station and received innovation awards from NASA.



The three winners received their prizes from Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation during a Citizens' Dialogue event in Brussels on the importance of women in Business and Research.

Commissioner Moedas said: "I want to congratulate the three winners of the 2016 EU Prize for Women Innovators on their outstanding achievements. Europe needs to support more innovators like them: the people who combine scientific excellence with a head for business; the people who turn their research into employment opportunities and their ideas into positive impacts for our society and our economy."

The winners received prizes of €100,000, €50,000 and €30,000 respectively. They were chosen by an independent jury from a total of 64 applications.


Source: European Commission